How about a walk through the Halden district to the Historical Museum? There's no better way than to cross the covered wooden bridge, an architectural gem.
As early as the 13th century, the two banks of the Limmat were connected by a bridge over the narrow point between the Governor's Castle on the right bank and the Stadtbachsenke on the left bank. Today's wooden bridge has at least five predecessors, all of which were destroyed over the centuries by floods, drifting ice or acts of war. Until the high bridge was built, the narrow wooden bridge and the narrow Halde road served as the main traffic axis!
The bridge we see today was built in 1809 and was designed by the Laufenburg master architect Blasius Balteschwiler. Balteschwiler designed a beam construction that spans the 37 metre wide river without needing support pillars.